The 13 million plus residents who live and work in the Province of Ontario, and the many more that visit, expect and deserve a very high quality of life and a positive Ontario experience.  The delivery of safe, reliable, cost effective, sustainable and environmentally responsible Public Works infrastructure and services is critical to these same quality of life and experience issues.

The members of the Regional Public Works Commissioners of Ontario (RPWCO) plan, design, build, operate and maintain the Public Works infrastructure (Transportation, Water, Wastewater, Solid Waste, Park and Public Buildings) that serve the vast majority of the citizens and visitors to the Province of Ontario. As such, members of RPWCO are uniquely positioned and qualified to address industry trends, best practices and emerging issues.

Vision / Mission

The members of RPWCO will add value to the delivery of Public Works infrastructure and services in Ontario by ensuring our collective resources are effectively and efficiently focused on strategic and emerging issues facing the Public Works industry by:

  • Identifying and promoting Public Works industry best practices
  • Pro-actively identifying and addressing emerging issues of strategic value
  • Advocating, on behalf of the Public Works industry, with other levels of government on issues of strategic value / importance
  • Member networking and information sharing with regard to technical and organizational trends and experiences
  • Engage and collaborate with other key industry organizations and associations


A relatively small number of municipalities provide a full spectrum of Public Works infrastructure and services to approximately (80%) of the population of Ontario. This group generally consists of former upper tier municipalities, and those cities and single tier municipalities with a population of greater than 100,000. Membership based on this criterion ensures that the size of the group is both manageable and effective in meeting its vision.

Current Members include:

  • The Regions of Durham, York, Peel, Halton, Niagara, and Waterloo
  • The Regional District of Muskoka
  • The Cities of Toronto, Ottawa, Hamilton, London, Greater Sudbury, Thunder Bay and Windsor
  • The Counties of Haldimand and Simcoe

Operating Protocol

RPWCO members will select for a two year term, a Chair and Vice Chair. Upon completion of the two year term, the Vice Chair will assume the Chair. Continuity will be provided through the Past Chair, Chair and Vice Chair succession plan.

RPWCO members will meet at least 4 times per year (Sept/Oct, Jan/Feb, March/April, May/June). Other meetings may be held at the call of the Chair. Meetings will continue to rotate to member municipalities, host municipalities will arrange meeting logistics.

The Chair and Vice Chair will arrange meeting agendas in such a manner as to structure the meetings and allow proper focus on key issues with opportunity for members to provide a 'high level' overview of broad emerging issues in their jurisdiction.

Every attempt will be made to cover the full breadth of the Public Works industry over the course of the yearly meeting cycle. As such meetings will be structured to deal with the following categories:

  • Organizational and Management Issues
  • Transportation Issues (Road and Transit)
  • Water / Wastewater and Storm water
  • Waste Management
  • Urban Forestry

Issues of strategic value will be identified through discussion. If RPWCO action is deemed necessary, an existing Executive Lead will be notified or another Executive Lead will be identified. The Lead will then be responsible for co-ordinating the efforts of all member staff through one of the sub-committees (if possible)  and report back to RPWCO members with a recommended strategy.

Appropriate government staff may be asked to attend Committee and Subcommittee meetings to discuss issues of strategic value with RPWCO members.

Chair /  Vice Chair / Executive Leads / Subcommittee Chair Roles

RPWCO Chair - Fred Jahn, Commissioner of Engineering and Public Works, The District Municipality of Muskoka

RPWCO Vice Chair - Mark Winterton, City Engineer, City of Windsor

Current (2017) Executive Leads and Subcommittee Chairs are as follows:

Water and Wastewater Executive Lead Erin Mahoney (York)
Water and Wastewater Subcommittee Chair Roy Huetl (York) / William Fernandes (Toronto)
Waste Management Executive Lead Jim McKay (Toronto)
Waste Management Subcommittee Co-Chairs Craig Bartlett (Durham) / Jon Arsenault (Waterloo)
Transportation (Roads and Traffic) Executive Lead Paul Jankowski (York)
Transportation (Roads and Traffic) Subcommittee Chair Brian Titherington (York)
Urban Forestry Executive Lead Kerri Marshall (Thunder Bay)
Urban Forestry Subcommittee Co-Chairs Ian Buchanan (York) / Albert Hovingh (Waterloo)

Chair and Vice Chair Roles

  • Primary contacts (within RPWCO and for external stakeholders) regarding RPWCO administration, collaboration and ongoing initiatives.
  • Coordinate RPWCO contact with various levels of government on relevant issues. This would include coordinating RPWCO responses to provincial/federal initiatives, discussion, papers, etc. related to public works infrastructure and services.

Executive Leads and Subcommittee Chairs Roles

  • Track the status of key issues in the functional area, and report quarterly to RPWCO meetings on these issues

  • Coordinate RPWCO contact with other industry associations in the functional area. Act as a liaison between RPWCO and these other groups for purposes of information sharing, coordination of lobbying activities, identifying which group (RPWCO or others) might take a lead role in consultations with provincial Ministries.